In Finland we have this thing called ”reilu meininki”

Finally! The actual studies have started. I haven’t been this excited about school for a long time. Like, never? The words can’t even describe the levels of my excitement. This is probably now the ”honeymoon” of my Master’s studies as we discussed in Social Interaction Skills lecture. However, I’m pretty sure I’ll face the reality pretty soon. The reality which I’m sooo excited about at the moment! I want to learn new things, get to know new people, reflect my feelings, thoughts and actions, decide the topic for my Master’s thesis, start reading all these interesting books… So yeah, definately passing through the honeymoon phase.

The other thing I’m semi-excited about is riding my bike. People who are close to me know that I’m an active individual but in terms of going from one place to another – I drive. Or take a bus. At least I used to – but not anymore! Nowadays me and my bike are inseparable. Whether it is going to the university, going shopping in the city center, going out in the evening, we go together. Through sun, wind and rain. And OMG how many hills there are in Jyväskylä! Especially uphills. Plus cycling has also taught me two important things: which kind of jackets are suitable for holding the handlebars and how to do my hair.

But back to studies. One of the interesting courses this week was Social Interaction Skills. A lot of topics were covered. Many of them which I would’ve liked to discuss more: the difference between not-understaning and misunderstanding, different stereotypes and how they appear, the meaning of listening and listening skills and the word home. How does one define home? What does the word home mean to you? In everyday life I don’t think about the word that deeply. I say home when I’m talking about my apartment. However, when I do philosophise, for me home is defined by the people and the relationships within the people. Home makes me feel loved. Accepted. Warm. Happy. Respected. Needed and supported. My home is where my heart is. And where my bike is. 🙂

May the force be with you!
*AK

P.S. So what’s with the topic: In Finland we have this thing called ”reilu meininki”? We will introduce it to our non-Finnish friends during these two (or more…) years of studying and getting to know each other.

Leave a Reply

