“A day without laughter is a day wasted”

Three different experiences…

Time flies by so fast, all I have to say. It has been over a month moving in to Jyväskylä and almost four weeks of starting the studies here as well. A lot has happened ever since and the studies have been keeping us all very busy for sure. No more lazy hanging around days and not to know what-to-do with all that time feelings :)!
What I wanted to write this week is something based on my own experience. In the past eight years I have been spending time studying in three totally different University environment both in Finland and in over seas in the U.S.A. Starting with the four years in the University of Colorado, Boulder where I did my bachelor degree and played tennis as a scholar athlete. I really really enjoyed my time in the states and especially loved the University culture with all the sporting events, campus areas, wearing comfy sport clothes with CU logo (go Buffs :), having the tennis team around you, etc. The whole University atmosphere was something very unique and I knew I would not be able to experience anything like that again. After the years in the USA, it was time to head back home to Finland and continue with my master’s in University of Helsinki. The change from moving from a small college town to a relatively big city was quite hard. In Helsinki everything was so separately apart and around the city and school was something totally different from what I had experienced in the states. In school you hardly met any people, you only had few classes in a week, everyone lived all over the city, and everyone had their other lives beside school as well. Little by little I got used to this, and also started to live my life like everyone else having separate friends at work, at my hobbies, at school and so on. Still inside me I really missed the lifestyle and community we had in the college. Lastly, a month ago it was time to take the third step and most likely the last one in my University ‘career’. I was very excited to move to Jyväskylä and to start the studies in the Sport and Health Department. Before even coming here I had heard quite a many close family members, friends and other people saying that Jyväskylä is such a nice place to study and to live. The first thing that I noticed was that there really was a campus area and that almost everyone in Liikunta building was wearing sport clothes. Yeah, Felt like really coming back ‘home’ again. Another very important thing has also been the fact that we have extremely awsome group of students in our program. Even though we have only known each other for less than a month, it feels like we have known each other a lot longer. It has been so much fun to get to know so many great people all coming from different backgrounds and many from totally different cultures. Something which shows that I have really enjoyed my time here is that I have been laughing almost all the time…and it is just a positive thing. There have been so many funny moments and situations already, and I am sure that many more will come during these next couple years, and I will not stop laughing I promise ;), even though we will have some hard times ahead. So far so good here. Just waiting for the first snow flakes and the real winter to come.
“A day without laughter is a day wasted.”
Veera “V”
2 Comments Add yours

  1. yeah, we can laugh all the time. Sorry I do not often wear sport clothes, maybe I should try to be more like Liikunta opiskelija. What you mentioned that students wearing comfortable sport clothes with CU logo in USA gives me an idea that we should make our own sport clothes with our own group logo. Maybe sometime later all of us can discuss to design our logo( By the way I like your drawings ). Just an idea I:) Chi

    1. venurmi says:

      Yeah, I’m totally in on designing our own sport clothes (maybe a sweatshirt or a cute sport top or something) :)! Lets use our inspiration and creativity! And don’t worry, u fit right into the Liikunta building without sport clothes!

Leave a Reply

