Leave a comment

Life in two cities

Hello, my name is Riikka Nykänen and I am one of the Finnish students of our programme. Even though I am Finnish this is a new experience for me too. I hadn’t visited Jyväskylä before I arrived here in September and I can say that I really like this place. For me it was a dream come true to get accepted to this University because my biggest passion is definitely sports and now I can actually study that field.

I come from Helsinki and I still live half of the week there. So quite much travelling between these two cities but it is okay for me, I like to have kind of two different lives at the same time 😉. Only dilemma there is that when I’m in Jyväskylä I miss my friends and family in Helsinki and when I’m in Helsinki, I miss my Sposmapro friends in Jyväskylä. I think it’s worth it tough.

I didn’t know much about Jyväskylä in advance but I did know that people use to bike a lot in Jyväskylä. And yes, that is true. The distances are quite short here so it is easy and fast solution to travel. For me one of the most awesome thing here in Jyväskylä is definitely the great sports facilities! We have here all kind of outdoor facilities, academic sports classes, gym, you name it! So the possibilities to work out and do sports with your friends or by yourself are excellent 🙂

IMG-20150901-WA0019

Campus map – useful during the first weeks 😛

20151020_185801

Psyche and Subin after abs&booty class 🙂

IMG-20150902-WA0014

Hippos hall

IMG-20151022-WA0025-1

Betty, Alex and I at the gym 🙂

So far everything has gone well and I’m really looking forward to the rest of the semester. Have a nice and active autumn all!

-Riikka

Leave a Reply

